The palace chapel with its semicircular vestry is situated at the south-east corner of the second court of the Prague Castle. It stands in a place surrounded by older buildings of the building office and the coronation kitchen of the emperor Charles IV from 1723, which later served as the main guard house. The chapel gained its present day appearance during the reconstruction carried out in 1756-1764 by the design of Nicola Pacassi. The reconstruction works were led by Anselm Lurage. In the middle of the 19th century the chapel was renovated in a classicism style. At the same time the outside niches were set with the sculptures of St Peter and St Paul from Emanuel max.
The relatively low simple roof is crowned with a turret rising from the north part of its ridge. Originally, at the times the chapel was functioning, the turret served as a belfry. It has simple arched windows covered with sun-blinds. The roof, separated by the strong cornice, is castellated. The upper part has the shape of a frustum, which is deflected upwards. It is separated from the upper part, in the shape of a helmet, by another cornice. The top of the turret is crowned with a massive spike adored with finial and cross.
The former chapel of St Cross is open to the public so visitors can appreciate its beautiful and artistically decorated interior. The information centre is available for tourists here as well.