Since 1878 the square has been named after the Czech national awakener, linguist, poet and translator Josef Jungmann (1773-1847). Climax of his huge work was the five-volume Czech – German Dictionary, published in 1834-1839. The dictionary defined the literary form of modern Czech language and Jungmann had collected up to 120 000 words there.
In the old days this area was called Square of the Snow Virgin Mary, as Charles IV founded a church of this consecration there in 1347. Old Prague citizens also unofficially called the market-place opposite to the Snow Mother of God. In 19th century the square got the name At the Franciscans or Franciscan place. It developed from the fact that since the beginning of 17th century the monastery by church of the Snow Virgin Mary belonged to the Franciscan Order.
In the middle of the square there is standing a block of two historical Prague houses no. 758 and 759, behind them, at the side gate into the church premises, there is a plastically modified cubistic light pole with a lantern. The pole made of precast stone is unique work of the Czech cubistic architecture, built in 1913 according to the design by arch. Vlastislav Hofman.
Above the portal of the previous cemetery gate there is also a tympanum with relief showing the scene of coronation of the Virgin Mary by the Divine Trinity. Relief is being assigned to the period of 1360-1380. The sculpture was damaged as soon as in Hussite wars, for example all heads have been missed. Original of the relief can be found in the National Gallery.
In the forefront of the square there is standing a memorial of Josef Jungmann. Promoter of construction of the memorial was a society called Svatobor. The foundation stone was laid on 13th July 1873. The bronze sculpture of the national awakener is work of Ludvík Šimek from 1878. Architectural work was realized by Antonín Barvitius. Ceremonious unveiling the memorial took place on 15th May 1878.