The Wenceslas Square was founded during establishment of the New Prague Town in 1348. Due to its position it became the central city in the new urban unit. Since foundation it was called Horse Market as sale of these noble animals was prevailing there. Since 1848 till nowadays the name of Wenceslas Square has been valid. Change of the name was proposed by Karel Havlíček Borovský.
The square spreads from Můstek to the building of the National Museum. There are three entries to the underground, into the hall of A and C routes in the upper part and into halls of A and B routes in the middle and lower parts. Under the busy centre of the Wenceslas Square there is a huge hall subway, which was firstly opened to the public on 2nd December 1968.
Upper part of the square is fully dominated with the monumental neo-renaissance building of the National Museum, constructed in 1885-1890, according to designs by arch. Josef Schulz. The best view of the whole square is just from the platform of this building. In the upper part of the square there is standing a riding memorial to the patron of Czech country, St Wenceslas with four other saints of the Přemyslid Czech country by Josef Václav Myslbek.
Numerous outstanding buildings of palace type or magnificent burgher houses and in many cases even modern architecture by prominent Czech architects surround the Wenceslas Square on its periphery. Well-known European unique is numerous architectonically projected shopping arcades, mutually interconnected in many cases.
It must be stated that the Wenceslas Square became the place of important historical events on many various occasions.